Tony Awards Fashion Report: Top 15 Best Dressed

Dear readers,

As I mentioned in my first post, if you keep reading what I write you will eventually find out who The Girl In a Cocktail Dress is, and what are her interests. Well, from this post, you will learn that I happen to love Broadway theatre! And what do you get when you combine Broadway + Fashion? The Tony Awards Red Carpet. 

If you haven’t already guessed by now, this post features my Top 15 Looks from the Antoinette Perry Award for Excellence in Theatre. Long name, I know.. Fortunately for us, it is more commonly known as...The Tony Awards!

Because I like to keep you always on the loop, I’ll start with a short background on what the Tony awards are really all about before proceeding to the Top 15 Best Dressed list. 

The Tony Award recognises achievement in live Broadway theatre and it is named after Antoinette Perry, nicknamed Tony, who was a renown actress, director, producer and co-founder of the American Theatre Wing, which presents the award along with The Broadway League at an annual ceremony held in the city that never sleeps, New York City. At the first event, Jacob Wilk (Warner Bros. story editor) handed out an award and he called it a Tony… the name stuck. The Tony Awards are the highest US theatre honor, equivalent to the Oscar’s (which I’m sure you know, honour motion pictures), the Grammy Awards for Music, and Emmy Awards for television.

See, I told you it would be short. Go on, keep scrolling to discover my favourite 15 looks from this year’s Tony Awards, I know you want to!

15. Amy Fine Collins in Alice + Olivia

amy-fine-collins-hamish-bowles-tonys-red-carpet-

14. Grace Mahary in Public School

dao-yi-chow-grace-mahary-maxwell-osborne-tonys-red-carpet

13.Elisabeth Moss in an Oscar de la Renta dress

elisabeth-moss-tonys-red-carpet

12. Gretchen Mol in a Sophie Theallet dress and Edie Parker clutch

gretchen-mol-tonys-red-carpet

11. Taylor Schilling in Michael Kors

taylor-schilling-tonys-red-carpet

10. Kelli O’Hara in an Oscar de la Renta dress, Fred Leighton earring and Jimmy Choo shoes

kelli-o-hara-tonys-red-carpet

9. Bella Hadid in Prabal Gurung dress and Chopard jewellery

bella-hadid-tonys-red-carpet

8. Emily Ratajkowski in Marc Jacobs

emily-ratajkowski-tonys-red-carpet

7. Jennifer Lopez in Valentino Haute Couture

jennifer-lopez-tonys-red-carpet

6. Rose Byrne in Delpozo dress and Oroton clutch

rose-byrne-tonys-red-carpet

5. Kristen Chenoweth in a Zac Posen dress and Eva Fehren jewellery

kristin-chenoweth-tonys-red-carpet

4. Joan Smalls in Givenchy

joan-smalls-tonys-red-carpet

3. Patina Miller in Jason Wu

patina-miller-tonys-red-carpet

2. Anna Wintour

anna-wintour-tonys-red-carpet

1. Kendall Jenner in Calvin Klein Collection

kendall-jenner-tonys-red-carpet

Kendall had to be my favourite! This fluorescent colour really suits her, and she paired it perfectly with a mirrored box clutch. You can’t see from this picture but this dress has a triangle cutout on the back, making it the right amount of sexy. Another thing you might not expect, is that this dress is totally made out of sequins, although it gave the illusion of an edgy furry material! Very cool right?  I. Want. It.


This post has now come to an end (sad, I know!!), but stay tuned for more exciting posts soon to come! Don’t forget to check out my Facebook page for inspirational quotes and posts!

Let me know on the comments section below which one was your favourite look, or if you think I missed out on any dress!

As always, here’s a quote for you to linger on..

“Be yourself. The world worships the original.”  – Ingrid Bergman

Love,

Mimi  ♡

8 thoughts on “Tony Awards Fashion Report: Top 15 Best Dressed

  1. I love the shape and structure to Kelli O’Hara in an Oscar de la Renta…but not too keen on the color and tone…but as you said with Kendals I haven’t seen them up close and also in reality the photographs probably don’t even do them the justice they deserve 😉 I wouldn’t mind having all those dresses LOL 😉 a girl can dream…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another fabulous post again Mimi!!!! I think i must be the only person on the planet that wasn’t a fan of Kendals dress…i can’t even explain why…it just didn’t grab me!!! I think i was just expecting something more? But then my taste is rather ‘questionable’ hehe 😉 Hope all is good with u girl ❤ x

    Liked by 1 person

Don't Be Shy, Leave a Reply!